Vegans can assume that most bread products (in which DATEM is found) are in line with their diet which doesn’t allow for any meat, animal by-products, or animal derived ingredients. DATEM, however, uses glycerin for production.
While most glycerin is produced using vegetable oils, it isn't uncommon for animal oils to be used as well. It's also usually very difficult to figure out the source of glycerin. If you do have a way of contacting the manufacturer, be sure to confirm that they are using 100% vegetable glycerin.
Otherwise, it's best to avoid DATEM.
Also see: Is DATEM Bad For You?
Suggest improvement or correction to this article
Written by Kathan Natrajan | 12-10-2016
Written by Kathan Natrajan
Suggest improvement or correction