Kellogg's Rice Krispies Treats are not vegan.
They contain marshmallows, which are made with gelatin. Gelatin is a protein substance derived from the tendons, ligaments, and tissues of mammals, usually cows and pigs.
There are plenty of vegan-friendly recipes available, though, if you are up for making the treats yourself at home. Many of these recipes, such as this one, swap out the marshmallows for brown rice syrup.
Also see: Are Rice Krispies Treats Bad For You?
Suggest improvement or correction to this article
Written by Kathan Natrajan | 12-11-2016
Written by Kathan Natrajan
Suggest improvement or correction