Carmine, also known as cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, is not vegan.
The production of carmine uses insects.
One of the more common methods involves boiling dried cochineals (a scale insect native to South America) in water in order to extract Carminic acid. The acid is then treated with alum to obtain its deep-red color. Other methods include the use of egg white, fish glue, and gelatin. Unfortunately, none of the production methods follow vegan-friendly practices.
Also see: Is Carmine Bad For You?
Suggest improvement or correction to this article
Written by Kathan Natrajan | 12-14-2016
Written by Kathan Natrajan
Suggest improvement or correction