True couscous is vegan.
Much like pasta, couscous is made with ground wheat (or sometimes barley), which is rolled in wheat flour to form tiny balls. And that's it! There's nothing else to it.
When buying your couscous, make sure the ingredients list doesn't contain anything other than wheat or barley. Some store-bought mixes - especially flavored varieties - contain milk products.
Also see: Is Couscous Bad For You?
Suggest improvement or correction to this article
Written by Kathan Natrajan | 12-14-2016
Written by Kathan Natrajan
Suggest improvement or correction