One of the most common questions people starting on a vegan diet ask is if honey is vegan. The short answer is no.
Honey is essential for honey bees' long-term survival. During winter and periods of harsh weather, honey is typically a honey bees only source of food. Bees collect nectar, then through enzymes in its stomach, it is converted into honey. The honey is brought back to the hive. This honey is critical for the hive's survival.
The guiding principle of veganism is to avoid exploitation and cruelty to any member of the animal kingdom. Because the consumption of honey exploits and is harmful to bees, it cannot be considered vegan. If you are a vegan you should not consume honey or use byproducts such as beeswax.
There are a number of vegan-friendly substitutes available for honey, however, including molasses, golden syrup, and date syrup.
Also see: Is Honey Bad For You?
Suggest improvement or correction to this article
Written by Rachel Adams | 01-26-2017
Written by Rachel Adams
Suggest improvement or correction