Generally, marshmallows are not vegan. The majority of marshmallows are produced using gelatin - a substance created by boiling animal skins, bones, and connective tissues. Some also include egg whites.
Rest assured, there are brands out there that are vegan-friendly - Dandies, for example.
Before choosing your brand, we recommend scouting the company's website. Typically, FAQ pages answer the "is it vegan" question. Ingredients lists should also be available and can be quickly scanned for the ingredients mentioned above.
Also see: Are Marshmallows Bad For You?
Suggest improvement or correction to this article
Written by Rachel Adams | 12-11-2016
Written by Rachel Adams
Suggest improvement or correction